Title Fight

A heavyweight title fight
with myself.

This can only happen so often
so I train for it
and it eventually plays out on the canvas of this blank page.

Although I keep forgetting the date
that this knock-down-drag-out brawl is supposed to occur
so it’s hard to learn
to build the talent
to grow the arsenal
when it could all come to a head when I’m asleep
and doing nothing.

Something lies in wait
a phantom opponent
primed to destroy
to end all of my dreams
and leave me crippled
and with loose teeth.

Nah,
none of this works.

This is a shit metaphor
and you’re just typing for something to do with your fingers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

