Books I Read In 2016

So I managed to beat my record of books read in a year. Last year, I managed to hit my goal of 52, and this year, I rounded off at 76. Some of them are not exactly full- length novels, but I counted everything that I read, and I have broken it down into the appropriate sections below. As always, there wasn’t much direction in what I read, just what piqued my interest, or was an old classic that I had neglected to read until now. At least a few of them are books I read because they were the only thing around.

* = notable book.

FICTION:

On the Road – Jack Kerouac

The Martian – Andy Weir

The Outsider – Albert Camus

A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara*

First Love and other Shorts – Samuel Beckett

The Sportswriter – Richard Ford

Fizzles – Samuel Beckett

Death with Interruptions – Jose Saramago

Coming Through Slaughter – Michael Ondaatje

City of Glass – Paul Auster

Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami*

The Hours – Michael Cunningham

The Divine Comedy: Hell – Dante

Siddhartha – Herman Hesse*

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Dharma Bums – Jack Kerouac

Call of the Wild – Jack London

White Fang – Jack London

The Fall – Albert Camus

All Quiet on the Western Front – Erich Maria Remarque*

The Orenda – Joseph Boyden

The Beach – Alex Garland

The Encyclopedia of the Dead – Danilo Kis

White Noise – Don DeLillo

The Temple of the Golden Pavilion – Yukio Mishima

Beneath the Underdog – Charles Mingus

A Thousand Splendid Sons – Khaled Hosseini

Purity – Jonathan Franzen

Speedboat – Reneta Adler

Can’t and Won’t – Lydia Davis

Go Tell it on the Mountain – James Baldwin

My Struggle: 1 – Karl Ove Knausgaard

My Struggle: 2 – Karl Ove Knausgaard

My Struggle: 3 – Karl Ove Knausgaard

My Struggle: 4 – Karl Ove Knausgaard

My Struggle: 5 – Karl Ove Knausgaard

Hot Water Music – Charles Bukowski

The Sick Bag Song – Nick Cave

The Plague – Albert Camus

Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov

Day Out of Days – Sam Shepard

The Savage Detectives – Roberto Bolano

Rabbit, Run – John Updike

 

NON-FICTION:

Armies of the Night – Norman Mailer

Man in Black – Johnny Cash

The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou

Elements of Style – Strunk and White*

In the Pleasure Groove – John Taylor

Into the Wild – John Krakauer

Existentialism and Humanism – John Paul Sartre

It’s So Easy (An Other Lies) – Duff McKagan

Seven Pillars of Wisdom – T.E. Lawrence*

Miles: The Autobiography – Miles Davis*

The Twilight of American Culture – Morris Berman

Prisons We Choose to Live Inside – Doris Lessing*

Kiss or Kill: Confessions of a Serial Climber – Mark Twight

The White Album – Joan Didion

Che – Jon Lee Anderson*

The Prophet – Khalil Gibran

Endurance – Alfred Lansing

This is Your Brain on Music – Daniel J. Levitin

Meditations – Marcus Aurelius

 

POETRY:

Howl – Allen Ginsberg

Lunch Poems – Frank O’Hara*

Selected Poems – T.S. Elliot

And Still I Rise – Maya Angelou

Let Us Compare Mythologies – Leonard Cohen

Collected Poems (1934 – 1952) – Dylan Thomas

Cantos From a Small Room – Robert Hilles

Selected Poems – Pablo Neruda

A Lisping Poet – Dana Neily

Ignite – Kevin Spenst

 

PLAYS:

Death of a Salesman – Arthur Miller

God of Hell – Sam Shepard

Three Plays – Sam Shepard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books I Read In 2016

Leave a Reply

