Kind of Blue

She played me nine bars
of Miles Davis’
“So What”
over the phone.

My whole body froze up
as the switches
for my blood flow
were snapped to the off
position.

It was a sound from beyond,
my old self calling
telling me that my old life
was still there,
clutched in stasis,
and easily freed
by nine bars
of horn.

I listened to it,
a sound loosed long enough
to say:
“I’m still here,
I’ve always been here,
and it’s always going to be
so close.”

Just a phone call away,
really.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

