Books I Read in 2013

I kept track of the books I read this year. Not for any specific reason, I just wanted something to write down in my notebook. You’ll notice most of them are shorter, probably because I carry on a continuous love affair with short fiction. This is less a, “like me for who I like” post, and more of a, “Hey! Look at all the books I read that are totally above a Grade seven level.”

Anyway, here’s a list of the books I read in 2013, in order of completion.

American Gods – Neil Gaiman

Factotum – Charles Bukowski

Fast Food Nation (Non-Fiction) – Eric Schlosser

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (Non-Fiction) – David Eggers

As I Lay Dying – William Faulkner

Less Than Zero – Bret Easton Ellis

The Postman Always Rings Twice – James M. Cain

Killing Them Softly – George V. Higgins

Love is a Dog From Hell (Poetry Collection) – Charles Bukowski

The Continual Condition (Poetry Collection) – Charles Bukowski

The Hour I First Believed – Wally Lamb

Oryx and Crake – Margret Atwood

Hard Core Logo – Bruce McDonald

On Writing (Non-Fiction) – Stephen King

Deception Point  – Dan Brown (Whatever, sue me)

The People Look Like Flowers At Last (Poetry Collection)– Charles Bukowski

The Devil All The Time – Donald Ray Pollock

Crooked Little Vein – Warren Ellis

Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? (Short Story Collection)– Raymond Carver

The Autobiography of Malcolm X (Non-Fiction) – Malcolm X and Alex Haley

Supergods (Non-Fiction) – Grant Morrison

You Get So Alone at Times it Just Makes Sense (Poetry) – Charles Bukowski

World War Z – Max Brooks

The Shining – Stephen King

Night Film – Marisha Pessl 

Slaughter House Five – Kurt Vonnegut

John Dies At The End – David Wong

So there it is; twenty something books I read. Nothing truly off the beaten path, but sometimes you just need to read the ones everyone else did.

Happy new year. Read books. Don’t make it a resolution, those are lame.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

